Holiday Schedule

Georgia State University has established 12 official paid holidays each year for its employees. An exact schedule of these holidays is published each year by the university administration. The University will be closed for the following designated holidays.

  • New Years Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday following Thanksgiving
  • Five days Winter Holiday

These holidays are in addition to earned vacation time and are observed in accordance with the rules and regulations set forth by the university.

Print version of 2018/2019 Holiday Schedule



Holiday time will be pre-populated for each employee by the Payroll Office.

* As of 12/20/2010, and going forward, the University will be closed for an additional week each December.  This will require employees to use some vacation days during this time.